500 years ago, on the 20th May 1514, King Henry VIII granted a charter to a fraternity of London mariners who subsequently became the Corporation of Trinity House and who were charged with improving the safety of navigation, initially on the Thames, but later became responsible for pilotage, buoys, beacons and light vessels around the coasts of England, Wales, the Channel Islands and Gibraltar. Since then many, many thousands of lives have been saved around these coasts.
To celebrate this occasion The Association of Lighthouse Keepers has two special visitors coming to Hurst. President, Gerry Douglas-Sherwood, was Principal Keeper at the Needles from 1992 to 1994 and ALK member Pat Gumbrell is the daughter of a lighthouse keeper and also the great niece of Grace Darling. They have lots of lighthouse related stories to tell and will be happy to answer questions from visitors about this unique way of life. The Hurst Point lighthouse and historic Acetylene Room will also be open to visitors and it all starts at 1.30pm on Tuesday 20th May 2014 at Hurst Castle.
The event is free of charge but tickets will be needed as we can only cater for limited numbers. If you would like a ticket please contact Dinah Le May on 01590 674921 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Ferries run approximately every 20mins from Keyhaven starting at 10.20am. Please note that the usual ferry fares and Castle entrance fee are not included. Castle entrance is free to Friends of Hurst Castle and English Heritage members.